Master’s Programme in International Human Rights Law

The 2015 class from the International Human Rights Law Master Programme at Lund University and Raoul Wallenberg Institute

The Master's Programme in International Human Rights Law is one of the leading Master's Programmes in Human Rights in the world. For more than 20 years, the Master's Programme has been a key educational path for the development of knowledge, skills and competencies for high-skilled professionals in the field of human rights and humanitarian law.

The two-year programme provides students with in-depth knowledge in international human rights law and humanitarian law.

The programme is open for students with a bachelor’s degree in law from all over the world. Since the beginning of the programme, hundreds of students from developing countries have graduated from the programme with scholarships provided by the Institute through funding from the Swedish International Development Cooperation Agency (Sida) and the Swedish Institute (Si).

Upon graduation, our alumni have gone on to work in some of the most important international, regional and national human rights institutions, including the United Nations, the Council of Europe, National Human Rights Institutions, national governments, as well as in academia performing high-level research and teaching, or in the private sector as legal consultants.

The programme, which is organised by the Faculty of Law, Lund University, in partnership with the Raoul Wallenberg Institute, provides students the unique opportunity to get exposure to RWI's international development programmes.

High level scholars and worldwide international human rights practitioners collaborate with our programmes and visit our premises regularly. Thus, master students have the unique opportunity to meet them and get familiar with their work.

Students also have the possibility to collaborate in some of the activities performed by the Institute's research and cooperation programmes through our internship programme. These internships give students concrete and practical experience in the workings of a leading human rights and international humanitarian law  institution in the field of international cooperation, development and research.

Visit Lund University's Faculty of Law website for more information about the Master's Programme in International Human Rights Law and the application process.

Bios of Course Directors and Lecturers at the Master's Programme

Course Directors

Alejandro Fuentes

Course Director - Human Rights and Cultural Diversity

Senior Researcher

alejandro.fuentes@rwi.lu.se


Anna Bruce 

Course Director - Human Rights Legal Clinic: Disability Rights

Senior Researcher

anna.bruce@rwi.lu.se


Matthew Scott 

Course Director - Human Rights Law, the Environment and Climate Change

Senior Researcher, Head of RWI’s Thematic Area: Human Rights and the Environment

matthew.scott@rwi.lu.se


Radu Mares

Course Director - Business and Human Rights / Corporate Social Responsibilities

Senior Researcher, Associate Professor, Head of RWI’s Thematic Area: Business and Human Rights

radu.mares@rwi.lu.se


Lecturers

Claudia Ituarte-Lima

Senior Researcher

claudia.ituarte-lima@rwi.lu.se


Hanna Johnsson

Senior Advisor

hanna.johnsson@rwi.lu.se


Isis Sartori Reis

Program Officer

isis.sartori_reis@rwi.lu.se


Josh Ounsted

Head of RWI’s Thematic Area: Access to Justice

josh.ounsted@rwi.lu.se


Morten Kjaerum

Director of the Raoul Wallenberg Institute

morten.kjaerum@rwi.lu.se


Morten Koch Andersen

Senior Researcher

morten.koch_andersen@rwi.lu.se


Zuzana Zalanova

Director of RWI’s Europe office

zuzana.zalanova@rwi.lu.se