The Raoul Wallenberg Prize 2020

Nominations for the Raoul Wallenberg Prize for extraordinary humanitarian achievements are now open with an extended deadline until 30th November. 

The award is the initiative of the Swedish Government and the Hungarian Parliament, the Council of Europe and began in 2014. The Council of Europe Raoul Wallenberg Prize is awarded every two years to reward extraordinary humanitarian achievements by a single individual, a group of individuals or an organisation.

The Jury consists of six independent persons with recognised moral standing in the field of human rights and humanitarian action, and appointed by the:

  • Raoul Wallenberg Institute
  • Secretary General of the Council of Europe
  • Swedish Ministry of Foreign Affairs
  • Municipality of Budapest
  • United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR)
  • Raoul Wallenberg family

The Secretary General announced the call for nominations for the Prize during the meeting of the Ministers’ Deputies on 12 June and sent out letters to this effect to the 47 Permanent Representatives, inviting them to disseminate this call widely in their respective countries.

Deadline? The deadline for submission of candidatures for the “Raoul Wallenberg” 2020 has been extended until the 30th November 2019. The call for nominations will also be published on the Internet portal of the Council of Europe.

When & where? The award ceremony will take place at the Council of Europe on 17 January 2020 – the date of Raoul Wallenberg’s arrest in Budapest in 1945.

How? Nominations must be submitted through the electronic form and should be sent by e-mail, to the following address: 

Read more about the regulations here

Share with your friends
Scroll to top