The Raoul Wallenberg Prize 2020

At the initiative of the Swedish Government and the Hungarian Parliament, the Council of Europe has created a Raoul Wallenberg Prize in order to keep the memory of Raoul Wallenberg’s achievements alive.

Starting in 2014, the Council of Europe Raoul Wallenberg Prize, worth €10.000, has been awarded every two years in order to reward extraordinary humanitarian achievements by a single individual, a group of individuals or an organisation.

The Jury consists of six independent persons with recognised moral standing in the field of human rights and humanitarian action, and appointed by the:

  • Raoul Wallenberg Institute
  • Secretary General of the Council of Europe
  • Swedish Ministry of Foreign Affairs
  • Municipality of Budapest
  • United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR)
  • Raoul Wallenberg family

The Secretary General announced the call for nominations for the Prize during the meeting of the Ministers’ Deputies on 12 June and sent out letters to this effect to the 47 Permanent Representatives, inviting them to disseminate this call widely in their respective countries.

Deadline? The deadline for submission of candidatures for the “Raoul Wallenberg” 2020 is set for 31 October 2019. The call for nominations will also be published on the Internet portal of the Council of Europe.

When & where? The award ceremony will take place at the Council of Europe around 17 January 2020 – the date of Raoul Wallenberg’s arrest in Budapest in 1945.

How? Nominations must be submitted on the electronic form and it should be sent by e-mail, to the following address: 

Read more about the regulations here